Dennis Irwin
Space Engineering Department

Dennis Irwin became dean of the Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ College of Engineering and Technology at Ohio University in July 2002. Irwin was chair of the College’s School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from 1997 to 2002. He was selected as the school's Outstanding Graduate Instructor and Outstanding Undergraduate Instructor three times each. During his tenure as dean, the Russ College received what is still the largest single gift to a public engineering college in the USA, $124M from alumnus Fritz Russ and his wife Dolores. In addition, and also during his tenure, the Russ College has been awarded more than $180M in research awards from sponsors such as NASA, the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, General Electric, and several hundred other institutional and industry entities.

A registered professional engineer in the state of Ohio since 1989, Irwin currently serves on the nomination and selection committee for the National Academy of Engineering’s Russ Prize, the world’s highest honor in bioengineering. He is also a faculty member of the International Space University, and serves on the Ohio Society Professional Engineers (OSPE) board of directors, which in 2012 awarded him the OSPE Uncommon Engineer Award. He is a fellow of the NSPE, an associate fellow of AIAA, and a senior member of IEEE.

Dr. Irwin’s research and consulting has been centered on vibration analysis and control for spacecraft and spacecraft and aircraft subsystems.

He was the 2015-2016 President of OSPE and is the current Chair of NSPE’s Professional Engineers in Higher Education Executive Board. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Ohio Aerospace Institute.

Irwin, who holds a certificate from Harvard University’s Institute for Management and Leadership in Education, received his Ph.D., M.S., and B.S., all in electrical engineering, from Mississippi State University.